Lakewood, New Jersey - Website of New Jersey Shore

Lakewood Best Pizza

Lakewood - Unknown Food Critic

Lakewood Weather

Lakewood, New Jersey

compass Freehold Brick Toms River New Jersey Shore

Lakewood, New Jersey Brief History:

In 1814, way before this area was known as “Lakewood”, the town was named “Washington’s Furnace” by Jesse Richards & William Irwin, who moved here from Washington Township. They set up an iron company, which began to fail in 1832. A local investor by the name of Joseph W. Brick purchased the company and was successful in its revitalization. When Mr. Brick eventually passed away, the town was renamed “Bricksburg”.

During the 1860’s, five and ten acre tracts of land were advertised in various papers throughout New York. The streets of the village were laid out, and many large homes were constructed. One of the grander homes, the Laurel House, hosted such families as the Vanderbilt’s, Rockefellers and Astor’s.

In 1880, the town’s name was changed to “Lakewood”. The town’s promoters did not find “Bricksburg” to be a favorable name. The following decade saw the construction of many large hotels. One of the larger hotels was “The Lakewood Hotel”, which stayed open long after the tourist season to enable President Cleveland to spend his final days as peacefully as possible.

Just ten miles from the beach, today Lakewood boasts 1,200 acres of parks, 2 golf courses with a third on the way, as well as The Lakewood Blue Claws baseball team. Visitors can tour the former Rockefeller estate in Ocean County Park as well as the Gould Estate, which is now Georgian Court College. Lakewood enjoys a diverse community with plenty of opportunity for leisure, shopping and entertainment.